How to fix Ubuntu 12.04 & Nvidia Gt220 freezes with dual monitor and hdmi audio

***Ubuntu 12.10 update***

I’ve just updated my Ubuntu, the following workaround is still necessary to install the video driver manually and to blacklist some others, because otherwise Unity doesn’t work on my pc. However it seems that the audio on HDMI works pretty fine without doing anything. That’s a good news. I’m currently running Nvidia 304.60 driver with no other issues.

Hi,

I’ve got an Nvidia GeForce Gt220, I recently upgraded my Ubuntu to 12.04 version, and I’ve experienced a lot of problems with my second monitor (a television set), every time I plug it in or I switch it off Ubuntu got frozen and like a bonus the hdmi audio exit doesn’t work. A great start for a Long Time Support edition…

However after dozen of tests and plenty of time wasted I managed to solve the problem, now the system do not freeze and audio on the hdmi exit works.

That is what I did:

1. We need to download the Nvidia beta driver 302.7, notice that this is the only one that has worked for me, I tried an old one which had worked with the old Ubuntu version (280.x) and it does not work any more.

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/302.07/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-302.07.run

5th September 2012 Update: Just checked the 304.43 version with Ubuntu 12.04 and works great. Here is the link to download it, then follow the instructions below:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/304.43/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-304.43.run

2. Move it to your home

3. Then we have to disable the Nouveau driver at every level, in a terminal you write:
sudo apt-get --purge remove xserver-xorg-video-nouveau

Then:

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

and at the end of the file let’s add:

blacklist vga16fb
blacklist nouveau
blacklist rivafb
blacklist nvidiafb
blacklist rivatv

Close the file and save.

4. Reboot

5. Then at the next start press: Ctrl+alt+F1
Insert your login credential and then write:
sudo stop lightdm
sudo sh ./NVidiaTabToCompleteTheFilesName.run

The installer will load, I always got an error from the pre-install script, anyway press “Yes” when it will ask you to continue, and press Yes to every following questions.
At the end of the process reboot again (write: sudo reboot).
The video driver should work.

6. Let’s check the audio of the second monitor plugged through the hdmi cable in my case it didn’t work so I had to do something about it, if you had the same problem, that’s what I did:

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/sound.conf

and I added this line:

options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2

Reboot again, everything works!!!

For the last step I suggest you to read a list of other option that could be useful if you had another graphic card or a different chip or vendor:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-TO:Setup_HDMI_audio_on_GeForce_GT210,_GT220,_or_GT240

7. [OPTIONAL] We could do another step forward implementing a script that will update every new kernel release with our Nvidia driver, I’ve got it on the Ubuntu forum and it seems to work, I tested it in the last kernel update, after two or three reboot it worked, without do anything else but anyway I do not think of it as an essential part of the process any more since I have to reboot more than once. If you do not want to use it please skip to point 8.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=835573

8. When a new kernel become available you should recompile your manually installed driver, or just reinstall it. I prefer the second solution because it is easier; that’s what the Nvidia Common Problems Chapter says about it:

I just upgraded my kernel, and now the NVIDIA kernel module will not load.

The kernel interface layer of the NVIDIA kernel module must be compiled specifically for the configuration and version of your kernel. If you upgrade your kernel, then the simplest solution is to reinstall the driver.

ADVANCED: You can install the NVIDIA kernel module for a non running kernel (for example: in the situation where you just built and installed a new kernel, but have not rebooted yet) with a command line such as this:
# sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.09-pkg1.run –kernel-name=’KERNEL_NAME’
Where ‘KERNEL_NAME’ is what uname -r would report if the target kernel were running.

There is another situation that seems not be taken in mind by anyone, when xorg is updated bad things will happen. So yesterday when I update my Ubuntu, Gnome Shell wouldn’t run any more, it says that cutter was unable to load and of course my hdmi audio didn’t work.

So if your kernel or xorg are updated you have to reinstall your Nvidia driver:

press: Ctrl+alt+F1
sudo stop lightdm

sudo sh ./NVidiaTabToCompleteTheFilesName.run --uninstall

Press yes to everything, then:

sudo sh ./NVidiaTabToCompleteTheFilesName.run

Press yes as always and finally:

sudo reboot

That’s it, everything has worked again, a little bit boring to reinstall everything every time but unfortunately that’s the only way I managed to solve both problems, dual monitor and hdmi audio.

Edit on 26th May 2012 and 5th September 2012.

4 thoughts on “How to fix Ubuntu 12.04 & Nvidia Gt220 freezes with dual monitor and hdmi audio

  1. Pingback: An introduction to a “A Job Abroad” | A Job Abroad

  2. Hey,

    I’m trying to follow your steps for Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I adjusted the link so that it downloads the 304.43 driver but for 63 instead of 32 bit. Everything seems to install correctly but when I reboot it seems to get stuck on the booting screen that loads various elements of Ubuntu with ‘[OK]’ on the right hand side of each element. It happend twice now and after the first time I had to reinstall. I tried to download the 304.88 driver after the reinstall but it didn’t work and I had the saem dual display errors. I then reinstalled the 304.43 64bit driver and when I rebooted after the install it wouldn’t boot like last time so i had to reinstall again. I’m going to try again one last time and use the latest driver available on NVIDIA website but if you have any info that might help me please let me know!

    thanks,

    Alan

Leave a Reply

