Ubuntu and Sound Card Via VT1708/A

Ubuntu

It’s not a technical blog, but since I use Ubuntu and I’ got a Via VT1708/A sound card which is not detected by the system if it is used with another sound card (or as in my case the HDMI output), I decide to report here the workaround.

I’ve found it on another website (http://hardc0l2e.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/vt1708a-workaround-for-ubuntu-10-10/) where unfortunately the code contains a slight errors that in fact avoids it to work, the code contains that: ” instead of : “, in the Linux’s world it’s completely another ball game.

I can also testify that it works for Ubuntu 12.04 and previous versions (up to 10.04) , here is the code:

sudo vi /etc/default/grub

Then you replace the  GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=whatever with:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash pci=use_crs”

And finally:

sudo update-grub

Reboot and you sound card will be detected.

I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

